Texas Swimming & Diving Hall of Fame

Texas Swimming & Diving Hall of Fame

Dear WETS,

On behalf of the board of directors of the Texas Swimming and Diving Hall of Fame, I am asking you to please support this wonderful organization. The TSDHOF was created as a non-profit in 2008 to enshrine the legends of Texas Aquatics. Our board of directors has established rules, guidelines and an ambitious plan dedicated to preserving the history to promote the future of all aquatic sports in our great state. We have inducted 40 pioneers and legends (about ½ of them Longhorns), created a website www.tsdhof.org and have made progress on our displays in the museum at the UT Swim Center.

Bill Robertson, President

2012 Inductees

Bruce Hayes

Born in Sarasota, Fla., and raised in San Antonio, Hayes was an outstanding Texas age-group swimmer, setting numerous TAGS records. He capped a successful high school career at Highland Park High School under Coach Mike Sorrells, winning a state championship in the 200 IM and 100 backstroke. He was a major force in UCLA’s 1982 NCAA championship title, scoring more points than any other freshman at the meet. He competed for the United States at the 1982 World Championships. He won three U.S. national titles, seven medals at the 1983 World University Games and three golds at the 1983 Pan American Games. The highlight of his career came when he anchored the 4×200 free relay at the 1984 Olympic Games in Los Angeles. His come-from-behind effort on the anchor leg won gold and set a new world record for the U.S., edging West Germany’s Michael Gross by .04 seconds and earning him the 1984 Phillips 66 Performance of the Year award. Hayes has continued swimming and is the holder of several Masters world records. He lives in New York City pursuing his career in public relations.

Shaun Jordan

A standout for Coach Mike Sorrells’ Dallas Highland Park High School, Shaun won two Olympic gold medals at the 1988 and 1992 Summer Olympics. He also won a gold and silver at the 1991 Pan Pacific Swimming Championships. He was an NCAA champion in the 50- yard free style (1991) and 100-yard freestyle (1989 and 1991), and a 50-yard and 100-yard freestyle SWC record holder. Captain of the 1990-91 NCAA Championship team, Shaun won four consecutive NCAA Team Championships with the University of Texas at Austin (1988-1991). He graduated from UT with a degree in economics in 1991 and an MBA in 1997 with a focus on marketing.

Bryan Robbins

From Dallas, Robbins was the TAGS Diving Champion in 1963. He dove for SMU from 1964-68 and was a five-time SWC champion and three-time NCAA All American. He worked as the diving coach for SMU (1969-80), and was the SWC diving coach of the year in 1975 and 1979. He was also the U.S. diving coach at the 1976 Pan American Games, the 1980 Olympic Games, and the 1979 World Championships. He coached nine collegiate All-Americans, five national champions and five Olympians. He has been practicing and teaching martial arts for more than 40 years and has a seventh-degree black belt in Tae Kwon Do, third degree in Aikido, and a teaching certificate in Aiki Ju Jutsu.

Mike Sorrells

Coach Sorrells is best known for his 33 years as Highland Park High School’s swimming coach. He served in that capacity from 1965 until his retirement in 2002. He was a 1959 graduate of Highland Park and earned a business degree from Austin College in 1965 and a master of liberal arts degree from SMU in 1973. He also served as an assistant coach under Pat Patterson at the University of Texas from 1971-1972. Coach Sorrells was part of the driving force to separate the state meet into 5A and 4A-and-under divisions, giving more athletes the chance to compete at the highest level. He was instrumental in the establishment of the senior circuit. He was voted TISCA Coach of the year 2001. His girls teams won state titles in 2001 and 2002, while his boys team won in 2000.

Beverly Ball – Lifetime Achievement Recipient

Ball was born and raised in Throckmorton, Texas, and is now in her 61st year of coaching swimming in Texas. As a young swimmer her team won the YMCA Sate Meet. She served 48 successful years in high school swimming with Abilene High School and Abilene Cooper (1951-1999). For her 42 years helping with every aspect of the TISCA organization, she received the first-ever TISCA service award. In 1952 she started Abilene’s age group program. Ball started McMurry University’s swim team in 1999 and still serves as head coach. She has won three Div. 3 conference championships and produced numerous conference champions. We are recognizing Bev for her success, dedication and unselfish continued support of aquatics in Texas.